In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 1119
Online now 1218 Record: 6507 (2/14/2012)
The place for Irish fans to engage in hardcore discussion about Notre Dame athletics
Talk with Irish fans from around the globe about college football's most storied program
The spot for anything on your mind outside of Notre Dame athletics
The place for Notre Dame fans to trade and exchange tickets
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
please. There is a thread about Ronnie Stanley on pg. 3 and there is still a lot of confusion about the current rule. Most seem to think that you can play a little prior to the third game, but I am not sure the rule reads that way anymore. I would appreciate it if you would clarify the rule again ( I know that you have done it before) and how it applies to Stanley since he played a little early in the season.
I was corrected by Lou about a month ago on this subject. If a player appears in under 3 games, and these appearances occurred during the first half of the season (6 games), he is eligible to preserve a year. Ronnie Stanley played against Navy, and possibly another game, but has not seen action during the second half of the season. Thus he will be eligible for a 5th year. If he had played in more than 3 games, or appeared in any game during the second half of the season, he would not. I was always under the impression any playing time at all removes the possibility of a 5th year unless injured. However, players may in fact play sparingly during the first 6 games and save a year.
CMC Quote Master and Director of Football Related Discussions
5 Time POTW & 2 Time WPOTW Winner
Looks like the guys have me covered -- thanks to all that chimed in on this one!
Sapp.Jason@synthes.com - https://twitter.com/Jason_Sapp
I thought that the rule had been changed to " if you play in one game, you have used up a year". So the correct answer concerning Stanley is .........
This post was edited by irishm 17 months ago
If you play one play, that's a year. The exception as mentioned above is if there's an injury. It won't be hard to find an injury and get it approved. ND did this with Cave his freshman year. If you remember, Stanley had a brace on his elbow when he started practice.
If you play one play after the sixth game, you're definitely done is how I'm interpreting it now from reading some of the tea leaves that Kelly has stated during the season. There was a freshman named Emmett Mosely who didn't play all year in 1993 ... then in the infamous regular season finale against BC had to go in for one play and burned his year of eligibility. So that one play aspect is not inaccurate.
Stanley got in for the opener against Navy and had one play against Michigan (fourth game) when Zack Martin's helmet fell off. here's a reason. I'm not certain he's burned a year of eligibility based on some comments by Kelly. I will ask this question, if not of Kelly, people in the compliance office ... although sometimes they can get nebulous with this topic.
* Sole Member of Loner Monkey Gang
* 11-Time Winner of POTW Award
* Does Not Give A Sh*t
This same thing happened Fauria's freshman year. I'm blank on the game, but it was a game ND lost in 2+ OT's his freshman year. Weis put him in for the FG block at the end of the 3rd OT or something. Safe to say he didn't have the kindest things to say post-game.
Thanks for offering to ask the question, Lou. This has been bothering me for a long time. Like undfan211, I looked at the NCAA rules and it seems to me that one play does burn a year of eligibility, even in the first 6 games, unless you are eligible for a hardship waiver, which Stanley isn't because he is healthy. But as you say, it's clear from Kelly's statements on the issue in his press conferences that he believes Stanley has not burned a year of eligibility. It's probably more likely that I'm missing something than that Kelly misunderstood the rule, but I'd be very interested in hearing the explanation from the compliance office. Based on my reading of the rules, Stanley has burned a year of eligibility. I hope I'm wrong. Thanks again.
This post has been edited 2 times, most recently by Emcee77 17 months ago
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports