Online Now 760

Notre Dame’s 2013 NFL Draft Summary

The 2013 NFL Draft came and went with six Notre Dame players selected among the 254 during the three days from April 25-27.

Jamoris Slaughter (above) and Zeke Motta have continued a recent surge of Notre Dame safeties in the NFL Draft.

Tight end Tyler Eifert — first round (21st overall), Cincinnati

Inside linebacker Manti Te’o — second round (38th), San Diego

Safety Jamoris Slaughter — sixth round, (175th), Cleveland

Running back Theo Riddick — sixth round (199th), Detroit

Defensive lineman Kapron Lewis-Moore — sixth round (200th), Baltimore

Safety Zeke Motta — seventh round (244th) Atlanta

Three other players have already signed contracts as free agents: center Braxston Cave (Cleveland), guard/center Mike Golic Jr. (Pittsburgh) and running back Cierre Wood (Houston).

The six draft picks this season are the second most in one season at Notre Dame during the 10-year period from 2004-13.

The lone draft where it had more during that span was 2007 with seven: quarterback Brady Quinn in the first, defensive end Victor Abiamiri in the second, offensive tackle Ryan Harris in the third, nose guard Derek Landri in the fifth, cornerback Mike Richardson in the sixth and guard Dan Santucci and safety Chinedum Ndukwe in the seventh and final round. Wideout Jeff Samardzija also would have been taken had he not opted for Major League Baseball instead.

Here are five other Notre Dame notes from the 2013 NFL Draft:

• There is a reason why Notre Dame is Tight End U., dating back to College Football Pro Football Hall of Fame member Dave Casper’s second-round selection in 1974. Eifert became the eighth Notre Dame tight end to be drafted since 2001. The others were: Jabari Holloway (fourth round) and Dan O’Leary (sixth round) in 2001, John Owens (fifth round) in 2002, Jerome Collins (fifth round) in 2005, Anthony Fasano (second round) in 2006, John Carlson (second round) in 2008, Kyle Rudolph (second round) in 2011 and now Eifert — the first Irish first-round selection at the position since Irv Smith in 1993.

• Te’o did not join Bob Crable (1982) as the lone Notre Dame linebackers selected in the first round, but he became the seventh Irish linebacker since 1961 to be chosen in the second round: Myron Pottios (19th in 1961, the highest ever by a Notre Dame linebacker, better than Crable’s No. 23), Jim Lynch (47th in 1967), Greg Collins (35th in 1975), Bob Golic (52nd in 1979), Demetrius DuBose (34th in 1993) and Courtney Watson (60th in 2004).

• Would you believe that safety is the single most drafted Notre Dame position during the 10 years from 2004-13?

There have been seven: Glenn Earl (2004), Chinedum Ndukwe (2007), Tom Zbikowski (2008), David Bruton (2009), Harrison Smith (2012), and now Slaughter and Motta.

That's not even including Kyle McCarthy making the NFL as a free agent in 2009, Sergio Brown following suit in 2010 and Robert Blanton basically getting drafted as a safety last year even though he played cornerback at Notre Dame.

• What's quite amazing is Riddick became the first Notre Dame running back to be drafted since Julius Jones in the second round (43rd pick) way back in 2004. Even back-to-back 1,000-yard rusher Darius Walker was bypassed in 2007.

• Speaking of droughts, this is the third straight year a Notre Dame offensive lineman was not drafted by the NFL. The last time an Irish offensive linemen was chosen was 2010 with tackle Sam Young and center/guard Eric Olsen, both in the sixth round.

However, it should be noted that even though guard Trevor Robinson was not drafted last year, he started the last nine games at center for the Cincinnati Bengals.

The draft drought for the offensive line should end next season with tackle Zack Martin and probably guard Chris Watt, too.

Already have an account? Sign In